Welcome to 2017

I wanted to take a minute to thank everyone who has started following this blog. I am working on growing and improving this blog as well as my own writing. As anyone who does any writing knows, it is all a process.

Last year, I set a goal to read 100 books. I managed 75. I am setting the goal for 100 again this year. I am also attempting to set a writing goal of 500 words a day. This is at the low end in terms of numbers of words that many authors aim to achieve each day.I am using that number to establish consistency. I am sure that I can exceed that number but I need to establish a ground floor for myself.

Another part of my life involves volunteering at my local zoo. This has provided me so many stories that I am starting to write a zoo diary based on the interactions I have each day there. It has been very interesting establishing relationships with the zoo patrons but the relationships I didn’t expect were those with some of the animals.

I don’t have anything to give them except my time and love but they have a lot of information and wisdom to impart to me. I always wanted to be Dr. Doolittle and I had no idea how enriching it is to be among animals who are wild and so important to our own existence on the planet.

Modern zoos shoot for conservation and education as starting points. Zoos are definitely no longer the Victorian Age entertainment that they once were. Accredited zoos strive to provide an environment as close to natural as possible and allow people to form bonds with animals that they would not otherwise be able to have. Watching a tv show or reading a book can only take you so far. Being in the presence of species that share our planet is truly an amazing and humbling experience.

I am new to blogging so I thank you for your audience and your patience as I discover how to use this medium most effectively. I hope you also get some good recommendations from the books I read (and at least fair warning of the ones I thought were not so great). I try to read widely across genres and I hope I have been able to introduce you to some new authors that allow you to branch out and explore.

Happy reading in 2017!

 

Leave a Reply

