Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie

I have had a few Sherman Alexie books sitting in my book piles but this one popped to the top of my Nook pile so I dug in and got started. This is a short story compilation. The common theme that ties each of the stories together is that the main character, regardless of gender, is a Native American aboriginal of the Spokane Tribe.

My favorite was “Whatever Happened to Frank Snake Church” about a high school basketball player in later life. But in truth, I quite liked them all. Most of them are set in and around Seattle and explore all kinds of generational views and conflicts in the Native American experience.

There is something for everyone in this slim volume. Sherman Alexie is a Northwest treasure that rarely gets the amount of exposure he deserves. I believe he has a loyal local following and I know at least one of his books has been made into a motion picture.

This is a solid but slim volume, perfect for short story readers or fans of Northwest story telling. 3 ½ stars.

Leave a Reply

