Reading Goals

Summer is ruining all the good work I put into setting my reading challenge for the year. I planned to read 100 books in 2016. And then the weather got nice. Physically, I am very limited due to some health problems but the sun is so distracting. Especially when you live somewhere where the weather is not great most of the year.

According to Goodreads, I am 12 books behind. Talk about pressure!! Setting a goal like that and then forcing yourself in your mind to reach it, is like bad dieting. The harder you try to keep up and count your books, the more you feel like junk food bingeing.

My junk food this summer has been Netflix. At first I was guilt tripping myself to death every time I sat down to watch something on My List. That list, much like my book piles (both physical and e reader) are huge.

And then…epiphany. I realized that relaxing a little and watching, had prompted me to research some of the things I was watching. The research led me to books based on those subjects, or biographies, or fiction and non-fiction novels. And it prompted me to do more writing which sometimes gets neglected when I am doing a lot of reading.

The pressure is off. I am 12 books behind and I might not read 100 this year, but I am only 5 books away from exceeding last years total. And there are still 4 months left in 2016 so 100 is not out of the question. Unless Netflix sucks me back into the void!

Leave a comment