Gone, Baby, Gone by Dennis Lehane

I rekindled my new found flame with Dennis Lehane when the book Gone Baby, Gone turned up on my book buying list. I was excited to read it and thrilled and surprised when two characters from the last Lehane novel I read, Angie Gennaro and Patrick Kenzie, popped back into my life.

These two inner city Boston private eyes have their offices in a belfry in a church near their respective apartments. Since I am reading out of order, the author was kind enough to fill in the blanks for those of us who do that, by letting me know that they were now a couple. Once again, Lehane does a brilliant job of painting a vivid picture of the city of Boston and surrounds.

I am not going to give much away because I want readers to go out and get this book. But, the story begins with the abduction of a four year old from her bedroom in a rough Boston neighborhood. Mom is a hard drinking, party girl who’s story is that she left her daughter alone in an unlocked apartment to go next door and watch t.v. And drink with a neighbor. In fact, she left her alone in an unlocked apartment to go drink at an extremely unsavory neighborhood bar.

While the story moves along at a cracking pace and involves good and bad cops, neighborhood toughs, drug dealers, organized crime and a host of other issues, what is never far from your mind is the fact that the clock is ticking and there is a four year old out there who is at risk now and was at just as much risk at home. The book even begins by reminding you how many children go missing in the United States each day.

That concern over what is happening to the child made me anxious and that anxiety in turn, kept me up reading long past the hour that I should have been asleep. There area ton of twists and turns in the plot that keep you guessing right up to the final page.

This is my second Dennis Lehane read and I see consistency in his books and his writing. I knew I would be back to read other books by this author and I was not disappointed. I can assure other readers that they won’t be either. Just be prepared to stay up past your bedtime!

Leave a Reply

