11/22/63 by Stephen King

I preface this review by stating from the outset that I am not a Stephen King fan. I have read a few books that I liked and attempted others in which I was not really interested. This book ranks as one of the best books I ever read and will remain in my “top shelf” pile meaning I will read and re-read this book over time.

If you love time travel, quantum string theory and exploring the meaning of the universe, then this book is for you. It is very thought provoking -one of the main themes being “the past is obdurate”. There were a lot of interesting concepts brought into the story and I won’t go into any of them here because this is a book that begs to be read and then discussed rather than reviewed and spoiled by information.

The detail is excellent while not being mired in minutiae which has been a criticism of King books. There is certainly an element of travelogue which I always enjoy, music and food. The characters are interesting and well rounded – both the fictional and the non-fictional ones and it’s a great mix of both.

The story is marvelous. Any story that begs you to read just a few more pages, just one more chapter, just thirty more minutes and then the next morning has you picking it up as quickly as you can, is one of the great reads. When you finish and want to start again, it’s a great read. And when the author references everything in the story from Ray Bradbury to my favorite Thomas Hardy novel of all time – “Jude the Obscure” – then it’s a great novel.

Do not hesitate – buy this book. Read this book. You will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

