The Long Way Down (Daniel Faust #1) by Craig Schaefer

I absolutely loved this book! This is a fun, exciting, different take on a supernatural thriller and it is a page turner. I found it almost impossible to put down. I read it in two days but that is only because I forced myself to shut out the lights and get some sleep. This is one of those books when I finished, that I was already missing the characters.

Daniel Faust is a magician in the occult sense of that word. He is also a sometime private eye with his base being Las Vegas Nevada. He has a group of occult friends with differing powers and they meet at the Tigers Garden – a destination that only appears to the initiated.

Las Vegas also happens to have many resident denizens of the underworld. They are always involved in the sins and vices of those who find themselves in their debt.  Beyond that, I will say that the story involves murder, soul theft and an ancient box that can only be unlocked with the right psychic combination.

A number of interesting side stories occur and this is the first book in what is called the Daniel Faust series. I am excited about that because I intend to grab the next book in this series to find out what happens next. Without hesitation.

I can’t say much more about this book because that would spoil the story but I will tell you that this is the best example of a supernatural thriller with a light touch that I have ever read. This is like an Elmore Leonard with occult overtones.  I can’t say enough about Craig Schaefer’s characters except that I am so glad I found this book.

Grab it from your favorite independent  book seller or e-book supplier and I guarantee you will find it as hard to put down as I did.

Leave a Reply

