The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

Sometimes, a book that you have previously read can be like an order of comfort food from your favorite restaurant. You aren’t feeling great, cooking is too much work and even though there a huge number of great choices on the menu, you go for that certain dish that you know: it’s tasty, its filling, it’s reliable and while it’s not high art, the ingredients make you feel better. So it was that I grabbed a copy of The Da Vinci Code that was on special for Book Bub members and dug in.

For all of the lumps Dan Brown gets for his books, they are wonderful comfort food. You know the characters and the landscape they operate in is familiar. The ingredients are easy to digest – some action, some art history, some grail myth and in the case of this book, the tantalizing idea that by the end of the book, you have met the end of the current bloodline of Jesus of Nazareth – the man.

There is one great villain in Silas, the albino Opus Dei monk and one unexpectedly caddish villain in the historian, Leigh Teabing. On this re-read, I was struck by some of the changes that had been made to the movie. I had been more interested in the French Detective, Bezu Fache on first reading and was less so on this reading. And, no matter how hard I try, Tom Hanks just does not fit my mental image of Robert Langdon.

I originally came into this book on my first reading with quite a bit of information on the Priory of Sion, the Knights Templar and the like but less insight into Da Vinci’s art work (beyond the obvious of course) especially his interest in and symbolical insertions of the scared feminine into so many works of art.

At any rate, I went back to a good standby comfort read and found it fun and light and just the kind of comfort food my mind needed. Refreshed, I can now dive back into new work and taste widely from the wonderfully broad menu the world of books provides. I am sure along the way I will find a new standard comfort staple to put on my menu when I need a quick, light refreshing repast. 

Leave a Reply

